Faculty and Staff

Animal Science Faculty

Position/Major Field
Of Interest
Phone (575) Office E-Mail
Ryan Ashley Associate Professor,
Reproductive Physiology
646-4135 KN 229 ryashley@nmsu.edu
L. Neil Burcham Associate Professor,
Animal Production
646-2309 KN 331 burcham@nmsu.edu
John Campbell College Assistant Professor,
Judging Team Coordinator
646-6180 KN 212 jwcamp@nmsu.edu
Glenn Duff Professor 646-4316 KN 248 glennd@nmsu.edu
Gaylene Fasenko Associate Professor,
Companion Animals
646-3402 KN 217 gfasenko@nmsu.edu
Jennifer Hernandez-Gifford Associate Professor,
Reproductive Physiology
646-5090 KN 219 jgifford@nmsu.edu
Michael Hubbert Professor 374-2566 CLRC mhubbert@nmsu.edu
Shanna Ivey Interim Department Head/
Professor, Rumen Microbiology
646-4650 KN 222 sivey@nmsu.edu
Clint Loest Professor, Ruminant Nutrition 646-1714 KN 225 cloest@nmsu.edu
Tim Ross Emeritus Professor,
Sheep Production
646-2515 KN 317 tross@nmsu.edu
Eric Scholljegerdes Associate Professor,
Ruminant Nutrition
646-1750 KN 218 ejs@nmsu.edu
Adam Summers Assistant Professor 646-1549 KN 326 asummers@nmsu.edu
Sergio Soto-Navarro Professor,
Ruminant Nutrition
646-2016 KN 224 ssoto@nmsu.edu
Laura White Associate Professor,
Equine Science
646-5595 KN 335 lmwhite@nmsu.edu
Mark Wise Professor,
Reproductive Endocrinology
646-7422 SK 308 mawise@nmsu.edu

Range Science Faculty

Position/Major Field
Of Interest
Phone (575) Office E-Mail
Derek Bailey Professor, Grazing Management
and Behavior,
Director Chihuahuan Desert Range Research Center
646-2554 KN 329 dwbailey@nmsu.edu
Andres Cibils Associate Department Head/Professor,
Grazing Management and Ecology
646-4342 KN 332 acibils@nmsu.edu
Akasha Faist Assistant Professor of Rangeland Ecology 646-1805 KN 321 afaist@nmsu.edu
Alexander "Sam" Fernald Professor,
Water Quality Hydrology
646-1041 KN 316 afernald@nmsu.edu
Sara Fuentes-Soriano Herbarium Curator 646-7859 KN 341 sfuensor@nmsu.edu
Amy Ganguli Associate Professor,
Disturbance Ecology
646-3427 KN 328 ganguli@nmsu.edu
Hatim M. E. Geli Assistant Professor
of Landscape Hydrology
646-1640 KN 325 hgeli@nmsu.edu
Jerry Holechek Professor, Ecology,
Grazing Systems and Management
646-1649 KN 318 holechek@nmsu.edu
Kirk McDaniel Emeritus Professor 646-1191 KN 324 kmcdanie@nmsu.edu
Lara Prihodko Research Associate
Professor
646-6134 KN 320 prihodko@nmsu.edu

Support Staff

Position Phone (575) Office E-Mail
Gail Silver Ag. Research Assistant 646-2492 KN 327 gasilver@nmsu.edu

Classified Staff

Position Phone (575) Office E-Mail
Jenny Castillo Admin. Assistant, Intermediate 646-2515 KN 204 cjenny@nmsu.edu
Celia Salinas-Morales Admin. Assistant, General 646-2514 KN 202 celiasal@nmsu.edu
Dana Wiebe Admin Assistant, General 646-2516 KN 313 wiebed@nmsu.edu
Patricia Zapien Fiscal Assistant, Sr. 646-2426 KN 208 pzapien@nmsu.edu
Kristian Robles Tech Support Coordinator 646-5694 KN 206 crosis@nmsu.edu

Clayton Livestock Research Center

Clayton Livestock Research Center Position Phone (575) Office E-Mail
Lisa Blan Administrative Assistant,
Associate
374-2566 CLRC lblan@nmsu.edu

Campus Agriculture Farm

Position Phone (575) E-Mail
Ray Hamilton Farm Manager 646-4500 rayham@nmsu.edu
Paul Maese Livestock Supervisor 646-4500 paumaese@nmsu.edu

CDRRC College Ranch

CDRRC College Ranch Position Phone (575) E-Mail
Dr. Bailey Farm/Ranch Manager 646-2514 dwbailey@nmsu.edu

Horse Farm

Position Phone (575) E-Mail
Joby Priest Instructor/Equine Science 646-1345 priest@nmsu.edu

Extension Animal Sciences and Natural Resources

Extension Animal Sciences
and Natural Resources
Position/Major Field
Of Interest
Phone (575) Office E-Mail
Nick Ashcroft Extension Range Specialist, RITF 646-5394 KN 231 nashcrof@nmsu.edu
Kathy Bustos Admin Assistant,
Intermediate
646-3326 KN 331 kbustos@nmsu.edu
Doug Cram Extension Wildland
Fire Specialist
646-8130   dcram@nmsu.edu
Craig Gifford Extension Specialist 646-6482 KN 223 cgifford@nmsu.edu
Jerry Hawkes Professor 646-2322 KN 310 jhawkes@nmsu.edu
Robert Hagevoort Extension Dairy Specialist 347-2566   dairydoc@nmsu.edu
Rosanne Norris Fiscal Assistant,
Senior
646-3325 KN rosannel@nmsu.edu
Rossana Sallenave Extension Aquatic
Ecology Specialist
646-6093 KN 103 rsallena@nmsu.edu
Sam Smallidge Professor,
Extension Wildlife Specialist, RITF
646-5944 KN 308 ssmallid@nmsu.edu
Jason L. Turner Professor,
Extension Horse Specialist
646-1242 KN 330 jlturner@nmsu.edu
John Wenzel Extension Veterinarian 646-3019 KN 226 jwenzel@nmsu.edu
Marcy Ward Extension Livestock Specialist,
Associate Professor of Animal Science
646-5947 KN 227 maward@nmsu.edu