Advisory Team For The Future of Agricultural Research

We are interested in receiving your comments and questions.



July 19, 2017

The first meeting of the Advisory Committee to assess the future of Agricultural Research met on Wednesday, July 19 at the Bernalillo County Extension Office. The Committee received a welcome from Dean Rolando Flores and he briefed the team on the overall goals and objectives for this critically important committee. He emphasized the need to do a comprehensive review of the Agricultural Experiment Station (AES) and the Agricultural Science Centers (ASCs), including funding, staffing, facilities, research activities, and community/industry partnerships.

Following the Dean's briefing, Steve Loring provided some background information for the committee on the mission of AES and the ASCs. He discussed the reasons why the ASCs are located where they are, how they are funded, and noted that each center has local support from clientele groups and from their legislative representatives.

The team then engaged in an open discussion on these topics. From the discussion, additional information was requested prior to the next committee meeting. The background information requested includes more information on current research efforts, real estate appraisals for each of the centers, and a one-page white paper from each of the ASC's on their sustainability over the next 5 - 10 years (what do they need to ensure they are able to continue to meet the needs of their clientele). Additionally, the team is interested in learning about what other states are doing regarding this same topic. The information requested will be provided to the committee by September 15 and the next Committee Meeting will be held October 12 at the Corona Ranch.

Please see the minutes for more detailed information.

Image of cotton field

Advisory Team

  • Natalie Goldberg, Interim Associate Dean and AES Director | Co-Chair
  • Steve Loring, AES Associate Director | Co-Chair/Facilitator
  • Bruce Davis, Rancher, member of the Advisory Board at Clayton
  • Roland Sanchez, MD from Belen
  • Dino Cervantes, Chile Processor, Las Cruces
  • Blake Curtis, Seed Producer, Clovis
  • Dina Chacón-Reitzel, NM Beef Council
  • Craig Ogden, NM Farm & Livestock Bureau
  • Shad Cox, Superintendent Corona
  • Steve Guldan, Superintendent Alcalde
  • Jane Pierce, Assoc. Professor Artesia ASC
  • Shengrui Yao, Assoc. Professor Alcalde ASC
  • Dave Lowry, Farm Manager Leyendecker
  • Aaron Scott, Farm Manager Clovis
  • Stephanie Walker, Assoc. Professor EPS
  • Clint Loest, Professor ANRS
  • Jerry Sims, Department Head EPPWS
Advisory Team lists