NMSU branding

Master Gardener Programs

Image

New Mexico Master Gardeners are knowledgeable gardeners who assist their local Cooperative Extension Service office in providing accurate, research-based gardening information to county residents. The NMSU Cooperative Extension Service provides classes in late winter and spring to prepare volunteers for service. Master Gardeners work in association with and under the guidance of the local Cooperative Extension Service agent. Master Gardeners volunteer to assist homeowners with their questions, teach garden clubs, community organizations, and other non-commercial horticulture groups.

The New Mexico Master Gardener Program began in 1981 in Albuquerque. In 2004 there are 14 counties in New Mexico and the Navajo Nation Extension Service with active Master Gardener programs. Some counties use Master Gardeners extensively and teach classes annually. Other county agents find that the program is more sustainable in their county if it is taught once every two years.

If you are interested in becoming a New Mexico Master Gardener, contact your local Cooperative Extension Service office to find a program active near you.

Below are the counties in New Mexico that currently have active Master Gardener Programs.

Bernalillo County

To be a Bernalillo County Master Gardener, you need a combination of volunteer and gardening experience, preferably in the Albuquerque area. You must attend a minimum of 40 hours of classes. A minimum of 40 hours of volunteer service must also be completed by October 31.

Bernalillo County Contact Information:
Cheryl Kent
bernalillo@nmsu.edu
(505) 243-1386
Bernalillo County Web Site

Chaves County

Chaves County Contact Information:
Sandra Barraza
chaves@nmsu.edu
(505) 622-3210

Colfax County

Colfax County Contact Information:
Boe Lopez
colfax@nmsu.edu
(575) 445-8071

Dona Ana County

Dona Ana County Contact Information:
Jeff Anderson
donaana@nmsu.edu
(575) 525-6649
Dona Ana County Web Site
Dona Ana County Master Gardeners Web Site

Eddy County

Eddy County Contact Information:
Woods Houghton
eddy@nmsu.edu
(575) 887-6596
Eddy County Web Site

Lea County

Lea County Contact Information:
Wayne Cox
Lea@nmsu.edu
(575) 396-2819
Lea County Web Site

Lincoln County

(Joint Master Gardener Program with Otero County)
Lincoln County Contact Information:
Audra Lyon
Lincoln@nmsu.edu
(575) 648-2311
Lincoln County Web Site

Los Alamos County

Los Alamos Contact Information:
Carlos Valdez
Los Alamos@nmsu.edu
(505) 662-2656
Los Alamos Web Site

Luna County

Luna County Contact Information:
Jack Blandford
luna@nmsu.edu
(575) 546-8806
Luna County Web Site

Otero County

Otero County Contact Information:
Tom Dominguez
otero@nmsu.edu
(575) 437-0231
Otero County Web Site

Sandoval County

Sandoval County Contact Information:
Lynda Garvin
sandoval@nmsu.edu
(505) 867-2582
Sandoval County Web Site

Sandoval County Master Gardeners Web Site

San Juan County

San Juan County Contact Information:
Bonnie Hopkins
sanjuan@nmsu.edu
(505) 334-9496
San Juan County Web Site

Santa Fe County

Santa Fe County Contact Information:
Pat Torres
santafe@nmsu.edu
(505) 471-4711
Santa Fe County Web Site

Santa Fe County Master Gardeners Web Site

Taos County

Taos County Contact Information:
Tony Valdez
taos@nmsu.edu
(575) 758-3982
Taos County Web Site

Valencia County

Valencia County Contact Information:
Newt McCarty
valencia@nmsu.edu
(505) 565-3002
Valencia County Web Site

Valencia County Master Gardeners Web Site