NMSU branding

Sam Steel Exemplar Award

Selection Guidelines:
The Sam Steel Society was formed by NMSUs College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences to bond the college family more closely. The society honors the memory of Samuel Steel, the young man who would have been the first graduate of a New Mexico college had he not been murdered in 1893, two months before his scheduled graduation.

Selected distinguished friends of the college may be invited to become exemplary members of the Sam Steel Society. No more than two Sam Steel Exemplar Awards will be presented during fall and spring Sam Steel ceremonies held the Friday before university graduation ceremonies.

The Dean of the College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences in consultation with the Colleges Awards Committee shall select the award recipient using the following criteria:

  • Outstanding accomplishment in his or her chosen field (normally based on overall career of nominee rather than any single activity or achievement);
  • Contributions made to his/her community, state and/or nation;
  • Humanitarian service to society in addition to or rather than material success alone;
  • Service to the College of Agriculture should receive consideration but is not mandatory;
  • Persons employed by New Mexico State University or currently serving as a member of the NMSU Board of Regents, or persons active in positions relating to University operations, such as state legislators or government officials are not eligible.

Nomination Deadlines:
March 1 and October 1

Presentation date and place:
Awards are presented in the Music Center Recital Hall during fall and spring Sam Steel ceremonies.

Letters of nomination are welcome.

Recipients will receive:
Public recognition, a certificate and a medal.

Mail letters of nomination to:
Awards Committee c/o
Dean, College of Agriculture, Consumer and Environmental Sciences
P.O. Box 30003, MSC 3AG
New Mexico State University
Las Cruces, NM 88003

On-campus address:
Gerald Thomas Hall
Room 220

Typed nomination letters may be sent to The Dean's Office.