New Mexico FFA


March 7

ACES Collegiate FFA has taken 15 members to T or C and will take 15 members to Carrizozo to assist with the New Mexico FFA Career Development Event invitational. These members assist with putting on the contests that give High School FFA members the opportunity to master skills that they have learned in the classroom. When the members are not helping with the contests they are visiting with High School students encouraging them to consider NMSU and the College of ACES for their choice for further education.

June 13

The New Mexico FFA Association annual state convention was conducted on the NMSU campus. A total of 577 FFA members and 380 guests were in attendance for the proceedings. Dean Lowell Catlett offered the official "Welcome to the University" during the first general session at the 86th NMFFA State Convention. He also accepted the sponsorship award on behalf of NMSU and the College of ACES, recognizing the universities support as a 1 Star Partner through our New Mexico FFA Foundation. NMSU is FFA's largest foundation contributor, and the only organization in their 1 Star Partner Categories. Ten leadership competitions were conducted with the winning teams or individuals qualified for national competition in Louisville Kentucky in October. The Agriculture Science fair was also conducted with first place teams and individuals qualified for national competition. Eighty four FFA members received their state FFA degree which is the highest level of membership that a student may receive from their state association. Ten adults from across the state were installed as honorary members. Guest speakers for the event included: Wile Baily former national FFA officer, Matt Rush former director of the New Mexico Farm Bureau, Jeff Witte New Mexico Secretary of Agriculture and Jason Wetzler current National FFA officer. The convention concluded with the election of new district and state FFA officer teams. Mr. Tom Dean, Southwest District Director, received the State FFA Honorary Degree Award for his outstanding support to New Mexico FFA.