

## New Mexico Prescribed Fire Council Minutes December 1, 2017 Albuquerque Fire Training Academy



A. Welcome and Introductions – *Chairman Don Kearney called the meeting to order following the final presentation of the 2017 Annual Meeting. See sign in sheet for attendees.* 

**Post 2017 Annual Meeting** 

## B. Rx Fire Council Business

- 1. Treasurer's Report \$1,603.20 in Rx Council funds; Rx Trailer funds \$49.07; Total of \$1,652.27 in the account with \$443.68 in CFRP support funds available to the council to utilize. Purchase vouchers associated with the 2017 Annual Meeting are: 2014-14 \$34.29 Coffee (Doug Boykin); 2017-15 \$250.86 Oriental Trading Company (\$205.91) and National Fire Fighter \$44.95 (Don Kearny); 2017-16 Lunch for Annual Meeting \$571.70 (Mary Stuever); 2017-17 Appetizers after Annual Meeting \$95.63 (Don Kearny); Invoice 2017-01 to NMFWRI for Greg Bergin Travel to Annual Meeting \$365.65 to be paid directly to Greg via NMFWRI.
- 2. Election of officers for the next 2 years (2018 2019) The current by-laws state there can be between 9 and 13 members on the steering committee (Board of Directors); Currently we have 7 (Lisa Bye BLM, Doug Cram NMSU, Don Kearny Private, Mark Meyers State Land Office, Kent Reid NMFWRI, Rick Merrick South Central Mountain RC&D, Doug Boykin NMSF. The 7 have agreed to serve another term on the Board of Directors. A motion was made by Kent Reid and seconded by Rick Merrick to nominate by acclimation these 7 for another 2-year term All in Favor Vote was Unanimous, none-apposed. Additional individuals who have been nominated are Tim Kirkpatrick Private, Emily Hohman Chama Peak Land Alliance, Mary Stuever NMSF, Jacob Davidson NMGF, and Eytan Krasilovsky The Forest Steward's Guild. One position will remain open upon further discussion. A motion was made by Kent Reid and seconded by Rick Merrick to nominate by acclimation these 5 for a 2-year term All in Favor Vote was Unanimous, none-apposed.
- 3. Election of Executive Board (Chairman, Vice Chairman, Secretary, Treasurer) Following the election the Board of Directors, the following were elected to serve 2-year terms on the Executive Board: Don Kearny Chairman, Rick Merrick Vice Chairman, Doug Boykin Secretary, Tim Kirkpatrick Treasurer. Kent Reid mad the motion to approve by acclimation, Mary Stuever Seconded the motion and the vote was approved by acclimation.
- 4. Set dates for 2018 meetings After some discussion, we will set our standard meeting schedule at 1:30 p.m. on the third Wednesday of the month, primarily at the Socorro County Annex Building (198 Neal Street) in Socorro with a standard conference call number and pass code (e-mail Boykin for specifics). That being said, due to some conflicts, the January 2018 meeting will be on Jan 3rd, 2018 at the above listed time and place.
- C. Project updates Some time was spend on discussion of the proposed 2018 CFRP grant as well as opening discussion with NMACD and the American Forest Foundation Grant. No actions were taken at this time so discussion on all items will resume in 2018.
- D. Meeting Adjourned at 4:30 p.m.