NMSU branding

Resource Specialists

Chris Allison, Range Management Specialist

Areas of Water Expertise: Range Management

Contact information:

New Mexico State Univeristy

callison@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-1944

Jeff Anderson, Dona Ana County agent/Agronomy & Horticulture

Areas of Water Expertise: Pest management, xeriscaping, gardening, nuts, soil, water and air tests

Contact information:

Dona Ana County Extension Office

lantz@nmsu.edu

575-525-6649

Terell "Red" Baker, Riparian Management Specialist

Areas of Water Expertise: Riparian ecology, range/riparian Management

Contact information:

New Mexico State Univeristy

ttbaker@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-2218

Max Bleiweiss, Adjunct Professor of Entomology, Plant Path & Weed Science

Areas of Water Expertise: Satellite remote sensing, computer imaging, drought, surface water balance

Contact information:

New Mexico State Univeristy

mbleiwei@arl.army.mil

(575)-646-2828

Keith Duncan, Brush and Weed Specialist

Areas of Water Expertise: Woody plant & invasive species control

Contact information:

Agricultural Science Center/Artesia

erbc@nmsu.edu

(575)-748-1228

Colleen Caldwell, Aquatic Biologist

Areas of Water Expertise: Microbiologist, water quality

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

ccaldwel@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-8126

Manuel Encinias, Extension Natural Resource Specialist

Areas of Water Expertise: Natural resource management

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

kellogg@nmsu.edu

(575)-852-2668

Sam Fernald, Natural Resource Specialist

Areas of Water Expertise: Natural resource water shed management

Contact information:

Agricultural Science Center/Alcalde

afernald@nmsu.edu

(575)-852-4241

Cheryl Fiore, Research Assistant

Areas of Water Expertise: Weed management

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

cfiore@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-1627

Robert Flynn, Specialist-Agronomist

Areas of Water Expertise: Irrigation water quality sub-surface irrigation

Contact information:

Agricultural Science Center/Artesia

rflynn@nmsu.edu

(575)-748-1228

John Fowler, Range Management Expert

Areas of Water Expertise: Range policy & impact assessment, Range Improvement Task Force

Contact information:

New Mexico state University

jofowlor@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-2841

Natalie Goldberg, Department Head/Range Extension Plant Pathologist

Areas of Water Expertise: Plant Diseases

Contact information:

New Mexico state University

ngoldber@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-1621

R .Edmund Gomez, Project Director/RAIP AP

Areas of Water Expertise: Acequia Association management

Contact information:

Agricultural Science Center/Alcade

gr@nmsu.edu

(505)-852-2668

Steve Guldan, Associate Professor of Agronomy

Areas of Water Expertise: Irrigation water, acequia sytems

Contact information:

New Mexico State Univeristy

sguldan@nmsu.edu

(575)-852-4241

Sam Smallidge, Wildlife Specialist

Areas of Water Expertise: ESA, Agriculture, wildlife management in riparian habitat. Riparian and water quality, policy, endangered species

Contact information:

New Mexico State Univeristy

jboren@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-1164

Mark Marsalis, Extension Agronomy Specialist

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

marsalis@nmsu.edu

(575)-985-2292

Dave Cowley, Associate Professor

Areas of Water Expertise: Aquatic resources, fishery habitat

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

dcowley@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-1346

Maury Craig, Extension Science Specialist

Areas of Water Expertise: Microbiologist, water quality

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

ccaldwel@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-8126

Tom Dean, Socorro County Agent

Areas of Water Expertise: Agricultural water use and education programs

Contact information:

tdean@nmsu.edu

(575)-835-0610

Leeann DeMouche, Water Resource Specialist

Areas of Water Expertise: Water policy, water rights, urbanization, water conservation in home and waste water.

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

ldemouch@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-3973

Martha Desmond, Assistant Professor

Areas of Water Expertise: Wildlife habitat

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

mdesmond@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-1217

Bernd Maier, Extension Viticulture Specialist

Areas of Water Expertise: Drip irrigation vineyards

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

bemaier@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-5943

Michael (Mick) O'Neill, Agronomist

Areas of Water Expertise: Micro irrigation, crop water use, evapotranspiration

Contact information:

Farmington

moniell@nmsu.edu

(505)-327-7757

Geno Pichionni, Assistant Professor

Areas of Water Expertise: Water reuse, mineral uptake, salinity stress

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

gpicchio@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-1820

Naveen Puppala, Specialist

Areas of Water Expertise: Drip/Center Pivot Irrigation

Contact information:

Agricultural Science Center/Clovis

npuppala@nmsu.edu

(575)-985-2292

Jamshid Ashigh, Extension Weed Control Specialist

Areas of Water Expertise: Water use of weeds, weed biology

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

jashigh@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-2888

Calos Rosencrans, Assistant Professor

Areas of Water Expertise: Windmill technology, farm shop hazardous waste management

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

crosencr@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-4511

Craig Runyan, Water Resources Program Coordinator

Areas of Water Expertise: Natural Resource, Environmental Management, Extension Educator

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

crunyan@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-1131

Ted Sammis, Professor

Areas of Water Expertise: Irrigation scheduling, computer modeling, NM Sate Climatologist

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

tsammis@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-2104

Jill Schroeder, Professor

Areas of Water Expertise: Plant consumptive use,weed ecology and management

Contact information: a

New Mexico State University

jschroe@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-2328

Charlie Siepel, Southwest Director

Areas of Water Expertise: Range and pasture management, SWCD organization

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

csiepel@nmsu.edu

(575)-542-9207

Rolston St. Hiliare, Landscape Design Expert

Areas of Water Expertise: Water use in managed landscapes

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

rsthilai@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-3638

Rhonda Skaggs, Agricultural Economist

Areas of Water Expertise: Agricultural and natural resource economics

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

rskaggs@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-2401

Daniel Smeal, College Professor

Areas of Water Expertise: Irrigation, crop water-use, xeriscaping

Contact information:

Agricultural Science Center/Farmington

dsmeal@nmsu.edu

(505)-327-7757

David Thompson, Department Chair and Professor

Areas of Water Expertise: Biotechnology, bio-control of invasive species

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

dathomps@nmsu.edu*

(575)-646-2740

Curtis Smith, Horticulture Specialist

Areas of Water Expertise: Urban landscaping, xeriscaping

Contact information:

Los Lunas

cusmith@nmsu.edu

(505)-865-7340

April Ulery, Assistant Professor

Areas of Water Expertise: Soil, plant, and water relationship

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

aulery@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-2219

Frank Ward, Professor

Areas of Water Expertise: Water policy, water rights and adjudication

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

fward@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-1220

Woods Houghton, County Program Director, Eddy County Extension -Agri County Agent

Areas of Water Expertise: Water law and environmental sampling

Contact information:

Eddy County Extension Office

whoughto@nmsu.edu

(575)-887-6595

Brian Hurd, Assistant Professor

Areas of Water Expertise: Water rights economics

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

bhhurd@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-2674

Del Jimenez, Agriculture Specialist

Areas of Water Expertise: Small scale from water utilization

Contact information:

dijimenez@nmsu.edu

(505)-852-2668

Rex Kirksey

Areas of Water Expertise: On-farm irrigation efficiency

Contact information:

Agricultural Science Center/Tucumcari

tucumcar@nmsu.edu

(575)-461-1620

Bernd Leinauer, Extension Turf Specialist

Areas of Water Expertise: Turfgrass selection, irrigation efficiency, turfgrass water use, saline water irrigation

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

leinauer@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-2546

Blair Stringam, Irrigation Engineering Specialist

Areas of Water Expertise: Bio energy, drip irrigation practices and crop water requirements

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

blairs@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-7665

William Lindemann, Professor

Areas of Water Expertise: Soil, water, plant relationships

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

wlindema@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-1907

Lonnie Matthews, Pesticide Program Certification

Areas of Water Expertise: Pesticide pollution prevention

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

lomathew@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-1822

John Idowu, Extension Agronomist

Areas of Water Expertise: Soil Quality, Soil Tillage, Applied Soil Management

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

jidowu@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-2571

Mary O'Connell, Plant Geneticist

Areas of Water Expertise: Biochemical and genetic comparisons of drought responses in plants.

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

moconnel@nmsu.edu

(575)-646-5172

Bob McCaslin, Soil Scientist

Areas of Water Expertise: Salinity and crop production, general pollution, chemical analysis

Contact information:

New Mexico State University

bdmccaslin@endeavoreng.com

(575)-646-2324