School of Hotel, Restaurant and Tourism Management FacultyJean Hertzman, Ph.D., CCE

As Director of the School of Hotel, Restaurant and Tourism Management, Dr. Jean Hertzman coordinates and evaluates all activities related to undergraduate and graduate instruction, research, outreach, and service as well as oversees management of the 100 West Cafe and Bobby Lee Lawrence Wine Academy. She is chair the University Alcohol Review Committee and a member of the Strategic Enrollment Planning Council. She teaches food and beverage and meetings and events courses.

Dr. Hertzman obtained her Ph.D. in Educational Leadership from UNLV in May 2006. She holds a BS in Hotel Administration from Cornell University and a MBA from Tulane University. She has been certified as a Culinary Educator by the ACF since 1996. Her research interests are hospitality and culinary education, foodservice operations, food safety, and career planning and training for the hospitality industry. She is co-author of the 9th edition of Purchasing: Selection and Procurement in the Hospitality Industry.

Previously, Dr. Hertzman was an associate professor and administrator for the William F. Harrah College of Hotel Administration at UNLV. Positions included director of enrollment management, assistant dean of operations and academics, and culinary arts and foodservice management program director. Prior to that she was a Chef Instructor at The National Center for Hospitality Studies at Sullivan University in Louisville, KY. She has work experience in independent restaurants, hotels, and private catering services.

Dr. Hertzman's honors include the International Council on Hotel, Restaurant and Institutional Education (ICHRIE) W. Bradford Wiley Best Research Paper of the Year Award, the ICHRIE Chef Herman Breithaupt Award and UNLV Alumni Association Outstanding Faculty Award, induction into the ACF Chefs of Las Vegas Hall of Fame, the Boyd Award for Distinguished Teaching and for Service, Chef of the Year for the ACF Chefs Las Vegas, and two ICHRIE best conference paper awards.

Jean Hertzman
Jean Hertzman