Fort Bliss Federal Credit Union Faculty Award for Research & Creative Activity

  1. The award will be given for research and creative activity. One faculty award will be given annually to a faculty member from the main campus. Awardees must have at least a half-time appointment with NMSU.

  2. Each academic college will nominate one faculty member (two from Arts & Sciences). Nominations are to be sent to the Office of the Provost by Thursday, April 8, 2010. The awardee will be selected by the Office of the Provost from a finalist list selected by the University Research Council.

  3. The award will honor faculty members with sustained records of research and creative activity. Nominees will be judged on the quality of their work, the impact of that work in the nominee's field, and the nominee's national or international reputation.

  4. In order to recognize as many faculty as possible, a person selected to receive the award will be ineligible to receive this award again for the succeeding four academic years.

  5. The application packet will consist of a nomination letter from the department head and supporting material. The award will be given to reward a history of research and creative activity and not based on any one year.

  6. Each award winner will receive $1,000 at an award ceremony during the first fall university faculty meeting (opening program for faculty and staff).

Past Winners:


  • Dr. Daniel Howard, Biology


  • Karin Wiburg, Department of Curriculum & Instruction


  • Yosef Lapid, Department of Government