NMSU branding

Plant and Environmental Sciences

Improving lives through excellence in education, research, and outreach

The Department of Plant and Environmental Sciences, formerly Agronomy and Horticulture, was formed in 1986 from the merging of the Crop and Soil Science department with the Horticulture department. The department consists of 30 faculty, including 8 off-campus faculty with exclusive research appointments, as well as several Affiliate faculty.

Possible majors in the Department of Plant and Environmental Sciences include: Agronomy, Environmental Science, Genetics, Horticulture, Soil Science, Turfgrass Science and Management, and one interdisciplinary degree program in Water Science and Management.

There are 2 regents professors, 13 professors, 4 associate professors, 13 assistant professors, and 3 college professors. The average teaching appointment of the faculty is 25% with 75% research appointment. The department offers 3 B.S. degrees, 2 M.S. degrees, and 1 Ph.D. degree with various options within these degrees.

Field Trip!: Red Chile

Part 2


Enrollment Information:
Linda Meyer or Esther Ramirez
Box 30003 MSC 3Q
Skeen Hall Room N127
Las Cruces, N.M. 88003-8003
Phone: 575-646-3405
Fax: 575-646-6041
Email: lmeyer@nmsu.edu; esramire@nmsu.edu

Graduate Chair
Dr. Paul Bosland
Phone: 575-646-5171
Email: pbosland@nmsu.edu