NMSU branding

Certified States

The map below shows the states throughout the U.S. that currently have USDA Certified Agricultural Mediation Programs in yellow. This certification means that the USDA will participate in agricultural mediation cases in such issues as agricultural credit, wetlands determinations, compliance with farm programs, rural water loan programs, grazing on National Forest System lands, pesticides, and any other issues deemed appropriate by the Secretary of Agriculture. The states shown in blue below have applications pending to have their Agricultural Mediation Programs certified by the USDA. To find out about specific issues for which Mediation is available within an individual state, please contact a representative of the Agricultural Mediation Program of that state.

Alabama

Lana M. Harms, Program Manager
Alabama Agricultural Mediation Program
Alabama Department of Agriculture and Industries
1445 Federal Drive
Montgomery, AL 36107
Tel (334) 240-7151
Fax (334) 240-7190
E-Mail: alagmedharms@tds.net
http://www.agi.alabama/ag-mediation

Arizona

Dr. Eric P. Thor, S.A.M.
State Ag Mediation Director
Arizona Ag Mediation Institute
13641 S. 33rd St.
Phoenix, AZ 85044
Office: 480 496-5926
Cell: 602 320-4294
erictho211@gmail.com

http://www.azagmediation.org

Arkansas

Richard S. Johnston, Program Coordinator
Farm/Creditor Mediation Program
Arkansas Development Finance Authority
P.O. Box 8023
Little Rock, AR 72203
Tel: (501) 682-5895
Fax: (501) 682-5893
E-mail: rjohnston@adfa.state.ar.us http://www.state.ar.us/adfa/index.html

California

Carolyn Penny
Common Ground: Center for Cooperative Solutions
UC Davis Extension
1333 Research Park Dr.
Davis, CA 95618
Tel (530) 752-1985
Fax (530) 754-5105
E-mail: commonground@unexmail.ucdavis.edu

Colorado

Mark Gallegos
Colorado Department of Agriculture
2331 West 31st Avenue
Denver, CO, 80211
Tel (303) 477-0054
Fax (303) 480-9236
E-mail: mark.gallegos@ag.state.co.us

Florida

Bruce Delaney
Florida Agricultural Mediation Service
Florida Cooperative Extension Service
P.O. Box 110210
Gainesville, FL 32611-0210
Tel (888) 712-9421
Fax (352) 846-0458
E-mail: delaneyb@ufl.edu
http://fams.ifas.ufl.edu

Idaho

Gayle A. Cooper
Associate Director

Fulcrum Institute Dispute Resolution Clinic
2100 Northwest Boulevard, Ste 320
Coeur d' Alene, ID 83814
Tel: (208) 667-5325
Tel: (208) 665-7958
E-mail: gcooper@fulcrumdispute.com
http://www.fulcrumdispute.com

Illinois

Missy Greathouse
Illinois Agricultural Mediation Program
Dispute Resolution Institute, Inc.
P.O. Box 1136
Carbondale, IL 62903
Tel: (618) 549-1300
Fax: (618) 351-1419
E-mail: iamp@dri-inc.org
http://www.ilagmediation.org

Indiana

Roslyn Amor, Director of Projects
Rural Services of Indiana, Inc.
60918 US 31
South Bend, IN 46614
Tel (800) 288-6581
Fax (574) 299-9666
E-mail: ramor@comprehensivecreditcounseling.com
http://www.comprehensivecreditcounseling.com/mediation.html

Iowa

Michael L. Thompson, Executive Director
Iowa Mediation Services, Inc.
1025 Ashworth Road, Suite 504
West Des Moines, IA 50265
Tel (515) 331-8081
Fax (515) 331-8085

Kansas

Forrest Buhler
Kansas Agricultural Mediation Service
K-State Research & Extension
2A Edwards Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506
Tel: (785) 532-6958
Fax: (785) 532-6532
E-mail: fbuhler@k-state.edu
www.ksre.ksu.edu/kams

Louisiana


Alvin Washington

Louisiana State Agricultural Mediation Program
Southern University Law Center
P.O. Box 9294
Baton Rouge, LA 70813
Tel: (225) 771-4900 ext 208
Fax: (225) 771-2474
E-mail: awashington@sulc.edu
http://www.suagcenter.com/LAMP/lamp_info.html/

Maine

Nancy Markowitz
Community Mediation Services
Volunteers of America Northern New England
14 Maine Street, Suite 301
Brunswick, ME 04011
Tel (207) 441-3076
Fax (207)
E-mail: nancy.markowitz@voanne.org
http://www.

Maryland

Jane Storrs, Director, Agricultural Mediation Program
Maryland State Department of Agriculture
50 Harry S. Truman Parkway
Annapolis, MD 21401
Tel: (410) 841-5770
Fax: (410) 841-5987
E-mail: storrsjm@mda.state.md.us
http://www.farmsense.org/

Massachusetts

Loraine Della Porta
Massachusetts Ag Mediation Program
c/o MA Office of Dispute Resolution
University of MA - Boston
100 Morrissey Blvd.
McCormack Bldg. - Room 627
Boston, MA 02125
Tel (617) 287-4048
Fax (617)
E-mail: loraine.dellaporta@umb.edu

Michigan

Vera Bitsch
Michigan Ag Mediation Program

Michigan State University
306 Agriculture Hall
East Lansing, MI 48824-1039
Tel (517) 353-9192
Fax (517) 432-7644
E-mail: bitsch@msu.edu
http://www.msue.msu.edu/aoe/slg.html

Minnesota

Mary Nell Preisler, Statewide Mediation Coordinator
Minnesota Farmer Lender Mediation Program
1526 170th Avenue
Bejou, MN 56516-9736
Tel: (218) 935-5785
Fax: (218) 935-9053
E-mail: preis002@umn.edu

http://www.extension.umn.edu/specializations/businessmanagement/FarmerLenderMediation.html

Mississippi

LyTanya Toomer
Mississippi Association of Cooperatives
233 E. Hamiltion St.
Jackson, MS 39225
Tel (601)-354-2750
Fax (601)-354-2777
E-mail: lytanyatoomer@federation.coop

Missouri

J. Chris Klenklen, Administrator
or
Joe Walker, Mediation Coordinator
Missouri Agricultural Mediation Services
P.O. Box 630
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Tel: (573) 751-5520
Fax: (573) 751-5516
E-mail: chris.klenklen@mda.mo.gov
http://www.mda.mo.gov/
or
E-mail: joe.walker@mda.mo.gov
http://www.mda.mo.gov/

Nebraska

Marian Beethe
Nebraska Farm Mediation Service
Nebraska State Department of Agriculture
P.O. Box 94947
Lincoln, NE 68509
Tel: (402) 471-6890 or 1-800-446-4071
E-mail: marian.beethe@nebraska.gov
http://www.agr.ne.gov/division/med/med.htm

Nevada

Jennifer Bartlett, Program Coordinator
Nevada Agricultural Mediation Program
Nevada Department of Agriculture
350 Capitol Hill
Reno, NV 89502
Tel: (775) 688-1180
Fax: (775) 688-1178
E-mail: jbartlett@agri.state.nv.us
http://agri.state.nv.us/AGRI_Sitemap_Administration.htm

New Jersey

David Kimmel
New Jersey Agricultural Mediation Program
State Agriculture Development Committee
P.O. Box 330
Trenton, NJ 08625-0330
Tel (609) 984-2504
Fax (609) 633-2004
E-mail: david.kimmel@ag.state.nj.us
www.state.nj.us/agriculture/sadc

New Mexico

Eduardo Medina
New Mexico Agricultural Mediation Program
NMSU Cooperative Extension Service
P.O. Box 30003, MSC 3AE
Las Cruces, NM 88003
Tel: (575) 646-2925 or (575)-621-1188
Fax: (575) 646-3808
E-mail: emw@nmsu.edu
http://cahe.nmsu.edu/nmamp/

New York

New York State Agricultural Mediation Program
NYS Unified Court System
Mark V. Collins, Assistant Coordinator

Dan Kos, Management Court Analyst
State Office of Alternative Dispute Resolution Programs
98 Niver Street
Cohoes, NY 12047
Tel (518) 238-4355 (Collins)
Tel (518)238-4354 (Kos)
Fax (518)238-2951
E-mail: MCollins@courts.state.ny.us or
E-mail: dkos@courts.state.ny.us
http://www.courts.state.ny.us/ip/adr

Charlotte Carter, NYSAMP State Program Manager
New York State Dispute Resolution Association
255 River Street
Troy, NY 12180
Tel: (518) 687-2246
Toll Free: (866) 669-7267
FAX: (518) 687-2245
E-mail: charlotte@nysdra.org

North Carolina

North Carolina Agricultural Mediation Program
Western Carolina University
202 Forsyth
Cullowhee, NC 28723
ncamp@email.wcu.edu
website: http://www.wcu.edu/NCAMP/

Jayne Zanglein, Executive Director
319 Belk
Cullowhee, NC 28723
(828) 277-7191
jzanglein@email.wcu.edu

Betty Mayo, Outreach Coordinator
304 Woodlawn Avenue
Greensboro, NC 27401
(336) 272-2722
ncampoutreach@bellsouth.net - business
bkmayo@bellsouth.net - personal

North Dakota

Tom Silbernagel, Administrator
North Dakota Agricultural Mediation Service
North Dakota Department of Agriculture
600 East Boulevard, Department 602
Bismarck, ND 58505-0020
Tel (701) 328-2061 or 328-2231
Fax (701) 328-1870
E-mail: tsilbern@nd.gov
http://www.agdepartment.com/Programs/AMS.html

Oklahoma

Andrea Braeutigam, J.D., LL.M., Executive Director
E-mail: andrea.braeutigam@oda.state.ok.us

Terrie Altman, Executive Assistant
E-mail: terrie.altman@oda.state.ok.us

Alan Ware, Outreach Specialist

E-mail: alan.ware@oda.state.ok.us

Oklahoma Agriculture Mediation Program, Inc.
2800 N. Lincoln Blvd, 2nd Floor
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
Tel: (405) 521-3934
Toll Free: (800) 248-5465
Fax: (405) 521-3926
http://ok.gov/mediation/

Oregon

Marti Kantola, Director
Six Rivers Community Mediation Services
Hood River Address: 205 N Wasco Loop Hood River, OR 97031
The Dalles Address: 1113 Kelly Ave. The Dalles, OR 97058
Tel: (541) 386-1283
Toll Free: (888) 628-4101
Fax: (541) 386-2189
E-mail: marti@6rivers.org
http://www.6rivers.org

Rhode Island

Michael McMahon, Executive Director
RI Economic Development Corporation
One West Exchange Street
Providence, RI 02903
Tel: (401) 222-2601
Fax: (401) 222-2102

or

Abbie Jones-Herriott - Executive Director
The Community Mediation Center of Rhode Island
570 Broad Street
Providence, RI 02907
Tel: (401) 273-9999
FAX: (402) 273-7311
E-mail: ajones-herriott@cmcri.org
www.cmcri.org

South Dakota

Dawn Letellier
South Dakota Department of Agriculture
523 E. Capitol Ave, Foss Bldg
Pierre, SD 57501-3182
Tel: (605) 773-5436
Fax: (605) 773-3481
In State: 1-800-228-5254
E-mail: dawn.letellier@state.sd.us
http://www.state.sd.us/doa/ag_dev/mediation.htm

Texas

D. Gene Valentini
Texas Rural Mediation Services
Lubbock County ODR
916 Main, Suite 800
P.O. Box 10536
Lubbock, Texas 79408-3536
Tel: (806) 775-1720 or 866-329-3522
Fax: (806) 775-7929
E-mail: odr@co.lubbock.tx.us
http://www.co.lubbock.tx.us

Utah

Kyle R. Stephens
Deputy Commissioner

Utah Department of Agriculture & Food
P.O. Box 146500
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6500
Tel: (801) 538-7102
Fax: (801) 538-7126
E-mail: kylestephens@utah.gov
http://www.ag.state.ut.us/divisns/comisnr/medlinks.htm

Vermont

Matt Strassberg, Director
Vermont Agricultural Mediation Program
Environmental Mediation Center
177 Paddy HIll Road
Moretown, VT 05660
802-583-1100
E-mail: matts@emcenter.org
http://www.emcenter.org

Virginia

Wanda Johnson
Virginia Agricultural Mediation Program
Virginia State University
P.O. Box 9081
Petersburg, VA 23806
Tel: (804) 524-5470
Fax; (804) 524-5967
E-mail: wjohnson@vsu.ed
http://www.fsa.usda.gov/va/

Washington

Jack Hebner, Mediator Director
Fulcrum Institute Dispute Resolution Clinic
915 W. Second Avenue, Ste 1
Spokane, WA 99201
Tel: (509) 838-2799
Fax: (509) 838-5588
E-mail: jhebner@fulcrumdispute.com
http://www.fulcrumdispute.com

Wisconsin

Paul Dietmann, Director
Farm and Rural Services Bureau
"The Wisconsin State Farm Mediation & Arbitration"
Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
2811 Agriculture Drive, P.O. Box 8911
Madison, WI 53708
Tel: (608) 224-5038
Fax: (608) 224-5110
E-mail: paul.dietmann@wisconsin.gov
http://datcp.state.wi.us/mktg/agriculture/farm-center/farm-mediation/

Wyoming